Birth of BBC radio celebrated via special vinyl project

50 years ago, the BBC started regular stereo FM radio broadcasts. To celebrate this sonic milestone Tim "Love" Lee has teamed up with fellow aural adventurers Tara Busch, Jack Dangers of Meat Beat Manifesto and Si Begg to bring you "Test Signals" - four sonic sketches of imagined test procedures and one glorious radiophonic collaboration between London, NYC, San Francisco and Los Angeles. A true testament to the golden age of experimental broadcasting. The 7" vinyl EP is strictly limited to 150 copies and comes with a full color sleeve and a digital download of the "Against Remixes" album by Tim Love Lee featuring mixes by Jack Dangers, Sonic Boom, Depth Charge, Kirk Degiorgio and others. Please visit http://bit.ly/XopwO9 to pre-order your copy now.

Read more

Brooklyn emcee Livin Proof preps new mixtape

Livin Proof is an accomplished MC out of Brooklyn, New York's Cooper Projects. He wrote his first rhyme at the tender age of 9 and it was only the beginning. Livin Proof went on to form a group with fellow Brooklyn-knight, Joell Ortiz, has performed on several Roc-A-Fella tours and was featured on Memphis Bleek's M.A.D.E. & 534 albums. Currently, Livin Proof has a record called “Krak A Ki” that DJ Camilo has been spinning continuously on New York's Hot 97 and a new mixtape in the works called "Die For A Deal". The first official single from that mixtape "Cut The Check" is produced by Fantom Of The Beat, who has produced records like "Magic Stick" by Lil' Kim featuring 50 Cent, "Apollo Kids" by Ghostface Killah and is also an original member of The UMC's with former partne

Read more

MHz Legacy releasing first new album in over 10 years

On October 30th, Ohio's legendary MHz Legacy will release their new self-titled album. The album will be their first new offering in over a decade, following their previously released compilation of rarities and b-sides, Table Scraps. MHz Legacy, which will be released via Man Bites Dogs Records, includes features from Danny Brown, Blu, Slug (of Atmosphere), ILL BILL, Slaine, and Oh No, and joining in-house producer RJD2 behind the boards will be Harry Fraud, Marco Polo, Stu Bangas, Illmind, and others. MHz Legacy consists of members Copywrite, RJD2, Jakki Da Motamouth, and Tage Future. The group originally went by the name Megahertz, shortened to MHz, but after influential member Camu Tao passed away in 2008, the group decided to add Legacy to their name in his honor. Further hono

Read more

Journalist 103 putting out new album via Babygrande

Honing in on the modern man's struggle, Journalist 103 uses his words to paint vivid pictures of peril, inspiration and overcoming hardship. As the lyricist behind The Left's critically acclaimed 2010 opus, Gas Mask, Journalist maneuvered through obscurity and rose to infamy as one of Detroit's most celebrated narrators. Throughout the years, he has shared the mic with legends such as Kool G Rap and even lent his voice to the opening track on Proof's out-of-print Detroit classic and now collector's item, Electric Coolaid Acid Testing. As his name suggests, Journalist 103 is able to articulate his point of view like a true professional, never relying on cheap frills to captivate listeners. "Journalist is a perfectly-titled MC because his raps have no gimmicks…but keep the listene

Read more

9th Wonder & Murs reveal tracklist for upcoming album

9th Wonder and Murs have released the official tracklist, including exclusive iTunes bonus cuts, for their last collabo album The Final Adventure. The iTunes edition will include two bonus tracks, while the iTunes deluxe version includes the bonus tracks and all of the instrumentals. The Final Adventure hits stores on November 13th along with 9th Wonder's new joint effort with Buckshot called The Solution. Murs recently released This Generation, his collaboration album with Fresno rapper Fashawn on Duck Down. Official tracklist for The Final Adventure is below. 1. Get Together featuring Rapsody 2. Dance With Me 3. Whatuptho 4. Holding Hands 5. Walk Like A Woman 6. Tale of Two Cities 7. Funeral For A Killer 8. Better Way 9. Wherever You Are 10. It's Over 11. Wa

Read more

Vinnie Paz releases video for DJ Premier-produced single

On October 22, 2012, Vinnie will release his sophomore solo album God of the Serengeti featuring production by DJ Premier, Havoc (Mobb Deep), Psycho Les (Beatnuts), Marco Polo, C-Lance and more with guest appearances by Scarface, Mobb Deep, Immortal Technique, La Coka Nostra, Army of the Pharaohs, Kool G. Rap, R.A. the Rugged Man and others. The 18-track album promises to add another chapter in the growing legacy of Vinnie Paz's uncompromising brand of hardcore hip-hop. Check out the new video for "The Oracle" here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wWUsShu2Bo&list=PLB4893150AADC40F4&index=1&feature=plpp_video which is a track produced by DJ Premier. Vinnie Paz's upcoming sophomore solo-album God of the Serengeti is available for pre-order here https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/g

Read more