Lil Wayne releases new Free Weezy Album

At the stroke of midnight on July 4th, Lil Wayne dropped his newest album "FWA" (short for "Free Weezy Album") exclusively on Jay-Z's website, Tidal. The new album has 15 tracks, featuring over 65 minutes of music, with appearances from Wiz Khalifa, Cory Gunz, and Bibi Bourelly - better known as the 20 year old girl who wrote Rihanna's "Bitch Better Have My Money". "FWA" was released six months after Wayne's previous mixtape "Sorry 4 the Wait 2" came out as a consolatory gift to fans, who are waiting on the release of his indefinitely delayed fifth album "Tha Carter V". The delayed fifth album in Tha Carter series is due to Wayne's disagreements with his record label and mentor Bryan "Birdman" Williams, saying that the label withheld two albums from him as well as money that's owed to Wayne. Lil Wayne also revealed to Rolling Stone that he has cut off all communication with Birdman. In February, Wayne sued Cash Money for $51 million, and in dealing with this lawsuit he released "FWA" exclusively on Tidal as well as potentially performing an exclusive show for the streaming service. While the first single off of Lil Wayne's album ("Glory"), had artwork with a Young Money logo on it, the "FWA" album art bears no mention of Cash Money or Young Money. The Free Weezy Album was unannounced before it's release, but Wayne had hinted that something was in the works when he told the crowd at KMEL's Summer Jam in Oakland, "I just signed a deal with my motherfucking idol Jay Z", he said in June. Meanwhile, Wayne's fans will continue to wait for "Tha Carter V" to finally be released. By Devon Pyne for RAPstation.com