DJ Shadow releasing early material from 1992-1996

Scheduled for release on June 5th, "Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996" is a major new archival release exposing Shadow's early production on the Akai MPC. Included among the highlights are instrumental tracks from an aborted 1994 EP planned with The Gift Of Gab, which includes the original demo of what would eventually become "Six Days." The new collection of "MPC Era" tracks follows on from the much-loved "4-Track Era" releases from 2008 and 2009, and establishes a pattern which should be familiar to Shadow fans. "I like to follow up new material (such as the recent 'The Less You Know, The Better' LP) with a tastefully-done archival project," Shadow explains. "As long as the old stuff is given a context and doesn't overshadow the new, I think it's a healthy exercise for me, and one that re-calibrates me for whatever new musical path lies ahead. I think it's important to revisit where you've been occasionally so that you can determine where to go." This project has been in the works for a LONG TIME, and it's as good as it sounds. Official tracklisting: 01. Intropy (Original Version) 02. Vee in Detroit 03. Dreams of a Piece 04. The Not-So-Quiet Storm 05. Fast Rap Fanfare 06. Intensely Hitting 07. Mystical With Solo 08. Alright 09. Don’t Try It 10. From the Old School 11. Freddi’s Popcorn 12. Quickstep 13. Movin’ On (Gab Demo 1) 14. Falling Up 15. Mellow But Chunky 16. Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2) 17. Heavy Mood 18. Affectations 19. Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3) 20. Aye 21. Brittle But Magic 22. Atmospheric Disturbances 23. Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4) 24. Up for Grabs DJShadow.com Bonus Tracks: 25. Give Up the Drums 26. Slow Poke 27. Vortex